Thinking of getting a recto, need advice.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sixstringpsycho

Reaction score
I have been using a DC-5 for over 5 years. I play alot of different music but am finding now that i want more.....I most likely will keep the DC5. my question is single or duel recto, I need verstility and a good clean, im a prog metal guy overall. any ideas? inckude other model suggestions also. The DC5 has been a great friend i just want a deeper distortion.

I, personally, think you would ike the dual more than the single jus for the fact that tube rectifiers sound and feel awesome. Play them both back to back on diode rectifiers and then switch the dual over to tube without changing anything else.....you should notice alot of the fizz go away and new found warmth and girth appear.

You may want to consider waiting a week until the Mark5 comes out. It's supposed to be all that and a bag of chips.

If you want recto though, with versatility, I would choose the road king or roadster. For tone, 1992-1993 duals.

Go with a Dual Rec. if you can. It's the one you want. The single rec lacks the warmth and depth the dual can provide.

if you have the time (like you say you do) wait and check out the mark 5. If you want THE recto tone though, i would check out the Roadster for the versatility you describe. No other recto aside from the RK can touch the cleans, the amp is over all smoother so good leads can be had and it still has that signature recto tone. Either way your looking at $2000 for either of those.