Need help with roadster immediately.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paintballnsk

Reaction score
I have a Roadster head. I have a rehearsal tomorrow morning assuming the roadster has a direct out into a PA.

I was wondering if it has a headphone out and or a direct out for recording. There is a master/slave output but I have no idea what that means because I'm a noob. I assume that's a direct out? Can the tuner out be used with full amp effects, or does it only give a clean output of the guitar to the direct out.

I'd like to plug my headphones in tonight and warm up, but I'm afraid of plugging anything into the amp without knowing what I'm doing. Obviously I'm not stupid enough to plug anything into the cab outs without a cab being there :)

Fast help is very appreciated.

Thanks,
NSK

[email protected]

As you already mentioned, make sure whatever you do, ALWAYS have a speaker load on the amp.

The tuner out is pretty much just the direct guitar signal.

The slave output is tapped off of the output (speaker) transformer and will have all of the amp's signal. It is not a silent recording or headphone out, as you need to turn up the output to send signal to the output tranny (and speakers). The slave level control is an attenuator.

You could use the FX send, keeping the output at zero, and using the channel masters as volume controls, but this will be only the preamp signal, which will not sound well at all without the interaction of the output section.

Why not just mic the cabinet?

Dom

The slave out is sort of a line out. I believe its tapped from the power amp so it carries some characteristics of the roadsters power section. You could use it as a line out into a headphone amp for late night practicing

I guess that works.

I think I'm going to buy a THD Hotplate to act as a load and use the Roadster for the show :)