Trying to Capture the Boogie, man.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barryswanson

Reaction score
I have been playing for a long time and have always wanted to record some of my tunes but have never been bothered.
But now I wanna give it a go. I have researched significantly and found so much information I'm confused and was wondering if any of you guys would be able to help me out.

What I do know is that I want to do it fairly cheaply since its my first time and I'm no pro.

I know I need an interface but it needs to work well with garage band on my Mac and my guitar cab being miced with a Shure SM57. I would also like to be able to Re amp tracks and record them at the same time.

So can anyone help me out with all this confusing gear you can buy for recording?

any decent PCI card (Maudio) or usb interface (name your price range) will get you there.

focus on the basics of recording, figure out how to use a mic properly and gain stage correctly.
plenty of pro recordings done thru the years with a 57, so it can be done.

only then consider re-amping; you will need the correct tools to do it correctly, or dont' bother with it.

the knowledge, is ALWAYS more important than the tools.

Thanks for the advice. I'm really wanting to buy an interface that allows me to re amp the first time so I'm not buying twice. I've looked at Apogee one, line 6 xu2 Maudio etc but not sure if I can play back my raw pre recorded track back to my amps whilst recording them at the same time.

Hey man there are many ways to go, but for a Big Bang for your buck would be: