Help me bring the volume up!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paw

Reaction score
My problem: I have a hard time bringing the tracks i record up to a decent volume when compared to the volumes of an ordinary CD-track. I don't want to go as loud as Death Magnetic or Californication, but I'd like to not hear a significant drop in volume when going from a random track to my track. I really don't know why my tracks turn out this silent, because the volume on the master fader is mostly high (often almost clipping). I use compressor on some of the tracks to bring up the volume and keep it consistent. I use ProTools LE 7.3 for reference.

Do you guys have some kind of method to mixing and bringing up the volume? I want to learn as much as possible as I'm quite new to recording and mixing.

Thanks!:)

You'll need a limiter on the master channel, or a multi-band compressor. This is a poor man's "mastering". :)
I use a combination of the PSP Vintage Warmer and the Waves L2. Sometimes together, sometimes not. Don't limit too deep or things start sounding weird. Personally, I rarely go deeper than 2db my master channel peak.

For the record, I'm not a professional, nor am I looking for professional results, but master channel comp can do wonders for the home user.

Hope this helps.

Yeah I tried a Compressor/limiter on the master track, but it fucked things up as a sound would suddenly go louder when another one stopped. Maybe I just didn't set it right. I'm not 100% sure what you mean with "2 db deep", would you mind explaining it to me?

Thanks!

What style are you doing?

Assuming you have Pro-Tools, then for Metal do the following:

Compressor/Limiter on the Master Track
Compress the Guitars Limted at -6db
Compress the drums (snare, kick, toms, and put a limiter on the cymbals, ride, hihat)
Compress the bass