Budget Recording...

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

koolaid

Reaction score
I would like to get into the recording game, but I would like to keep the price below 600-700 bucks. I am no engineer and have never really recorded anything other than through a silly little computer mic. I would like to make quality demos of my playing (not grade a studio quality) but at an affordable price.

I have been looking at a couple different routes.

1. Line 6 pod x3 live which would seem to be the simplest way to record, but possibly not the best results since it would be omitting my mesa boogie.

2.A traditional interface such as an mbox or a presonus firepod with a shure sm-57 which seems like it would get the most quality results, but take longer to learn which I i do feel committed too.

3. Line 6 ux2 studio interface and shure sm-57 which would give me the best of both worlds. I could use the amp modeling if I do get lazy or mic up my amp and run it through this interface for pure boogie tone.

Im sure I will also need to invest in a set of monitors or studio headphones either way I go so suggests on those would be great as well.

As you can see I have a few ideas and im sure there are even better possibilities so hopefully someone can help me out.

koolaid said:
I would like to get into the recording game, but I would like to keep the price below 600-700 bucks. I am no engineer and have never really recorded anything other than through a silly little computer mic. I would like to make quality demos of my playing (not grade a studio quality) but at an affordable price.

I have been looking at a couple different routes.

1. Line 6 pod x3 live which would seem to be the simplest way to record, but possibly not the best results since it would be omitting my mesa boogie.