Recording questions...

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maldeve

Reaction score
Ok, Im totally new to recording and need some advice on what I need to get a decent recorded guitar sound.

Im still waiting on my Mark IV to arrive, hopefully its only a couple more weeks out. I want to start gathering the tools i need to record now so I can make some decent recordings when I get it.

Right now my setup would only be this ....

Mark IV B medium head

4x12 Stiletto Cab

Shure SM57 mic x2 with stands

N-Track studio (computer program)

Audigy 2 platnium ZS sound card

What else other then these items do I need or could use to help have a decent recorded guitar sound.

Also with just these items how would I set it up?

Guitar>MarkIV>SM57's>soundcard>running N-track?

Basically the Micrphones would plug directly into the sound card?

Or am I missing a component between the mic's and my computer that would help?

Thank you in advance for any helpful replies!

Hey, If you got the money, get a sennheiser md421, you'll want somethign to fill in that empty bass/ compliment the sm 57, also, you might want a firebox from presonus , it has two mic preamps and it's firewire. better then a sound card, plus it'll power the md421 mic

Maldeve said:
Basically the Micrphones would plug directly into the sound card?

Or am I missing a component between the mic's and my computer that would help?

Thank you in advance for any helpful replies!

You'll need some sort of preamp.

If what I read about your soundcard is right, you could buy a xlr (what's on the sm57) to 1/4" transformer and a 1/4" to 1/8" adapter at Radio Shack (or somewhere like that) and plug directly into the mic/line in on the SB.