Trip Rect.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vaeth

Reaction score
Hey all, let me give you some background info:

I have been playing for about 8 years now.
After playing various guitar roles for 4 years in a genre I didn't necessarily enjoy,
I'm looking to start a band of my own
I want to start a thrash/deathrash band

So now that that's out of the way, I decided I had to upgrade my gear, as my previous amp was an MG100R and it just wasn't producing a good enough tone for me. I decided if I was getting a tube head, I'd go balls to the wall and get top tier one cause in the long run it would save me money building up to it. I asked a lot of store clerks and named one band in specific each time: Testament. They said Mesa Boogie was the sound that defined thrash in the 80s, so I looked into that. After testing out the Mesa Triple Rectifier for a couple hours, I decided this was the amp I wanted. So powerful and Sodom, Exodus, and Megadeth songs sound fantastic on it. In addition, I went to Kreator/Overkill last year and saw Warbringer's John Laux using a Mesa rectifier series.

My question is now this: I have an ESP with EMG pickups and my Triple Rectifier has 6L6 tubes. I'd like to know if I can get a really modern thrash tone out of it, we're talking like Dark Roots of The Earth album, Exhibit B, IV Empires Collapse, etc. You see, I live in an apartment, and after the 3rd or 4th complaint I got, I stopped using it, covered it up, and started looking for a house, so I haven't had a chance to tweak the sounds since the first time I set it up months ago. Also a lot of people are saying it's the wrong amp on the internet to other people, but how can that be if they defined thrash tone? Metallica used dual Rectifiers for Master of Puppets album, and Battery is one of my favorite songs by them, and I got some nice tones out of them. I labeled my channels