V5 position

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brees

Reaction score
ok I have read alot of post and have read about using a jj ecc803 gold pin and a balanced 12ax7 can someone tell me the differece either one would make and why is there a difference between a so called regular 12ax7 and a balanced one.
I am changing the tubes in my Stiletto Ace and so far I have decided on using:
V1 Tung Sol
v2 Tung Sol
V3 JJ
V4 JJ
V5 ??
I am open to any input on my choice cause I have never done this before

Thanks
Steve

If you owned a $15,000 all-tube stereo you might notice a difference using so-called "balanced triodes".

Guitar amps? Not so much. Yes, it's snake oil.

All 12AX7s have two sides. The idea behind having those two sides "balanced" is to reduce distortion. There is SO much distortion in any guitar amp pre-amp WAY before the phase inverter that it's ludicrous to think a balanced triode would have any detectable affect.

But, it's a free country, and it's your money, and it's probably only a $20 investment, so why not take the plunge? If it sounds better TO YOU, it makes NO difference what anonymous peoples on the interwebs think anyway, now do it?

BUT, instead of changing ALL the tubes at once, just get a couple and try them in V1. Really, if you can't tell the difference between a $10 tube and a $20 tube, you will have learned a valuable lesson. And possibly saved some money in the process.

I realize everybody desires instant gratification, but if you just change out ALL the 12Ax7s at once, you will have NO idea which tube is doing what and how any replacement is improving your tone, if at all. Tone-chasing takes time. There are no short-cuts.