Colliseum Mk IIC+ question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fear

Reaction score
I'm still a newbie to Mesas and have been trying to learn all I can about my "new" amp.

Assuming my amp came with 415s, what would be a good readily available substitute 6L6 that wouldn't loose the Mesa gainy tone? I keep hearing JJ's are what locals love, but most don't play Mesas or like lots of gain. Perhaps EH be closer than 440 Mesa 6L6s?

Also, which sockets do you pair-off the matched sets into? Work from center out, or do the matched sets pair side by side, two at a time? I'm new to swapping tubes myself and would like to do it myself since bias is not required.

Gain isn't going to be affected by your power tubes. Preamp tubes will do that.
12ax7 having the most 'gain' (call it 100%) then onward down the line to the 12au7 (call it 20%)
With the 12at7 and 12ay7 being in the middle (60% and 45% respectively)

For current day production 6L6 power tubes find some "Winged C's". The label looks like this: =C=

I don't remember the power tube pairings on the Colis right now.
But do a search it's been discussed beforehand.

The SED =C= SV6L6GC is an excellent tube, full tone from lows to highs and very rugged.

You are wrong to assume that there is no bias to be concerned with. ALL tube amp powertubes require a bias voltage to operate, Mesa uses a fixed bias that is not adjustable. You can not just stick in any grade of powertube. Be sure that your tube supplier selects tubes that will run properly in a Mesa amp.

I'm not sure how your powertubes are paired but if you by a matched set it doesn't matter.

Dom

Hey,