2x12 Cab Questions??? HELP!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmmallinson

Reaction score
Okay, so I have my first Mesa on order right now! Yes, I'm extremely pleased! Incase anyone wants to know, it's a Roadster head and a 2x12 cab. I am all over the musical spectrum in terms of what I play. Meaning I play praise and worship at my church and also in a christian metal band. I have a lot of experience with this amp. I know what it can and cannot do (as if it couldn't do something!) and I also know that while it has a tighter high gain bass response than the dual rectifier, I still would like it to be a bit tighter. Yes, I know the old tube screamer out in front trick, but thats only after I have the tightest sounding cab to go along... Yes, I am tonally disfunctional, or functional for those of you who share my "strive for perfection of tone paranoia"! lol Anyways, I know that the Roadster cab, being that it is smaller, will have a tighter bass response. I guess my questions are #1- Has anyone played through both the Roadster cab and recto cab? #2- If so, how much tighter was the bass response in the roadster cab, if there was any noticeable difference? #3- And finally, does the roadster share the same big sound as the recto cab, or is it kind of squatty?

Thanks and I look forward to some informative feedback!

sorry to butt in, but I have a 2x12 Roadster cab, and a 1x12. It's mint and for sale if you have the opportunity to get a refund on yours I'll save you $100 and send you mine. Like new, has left the house a few times - I usually travel with my 1x12 Roaster.

So sorry can't do the comparison you're looking for, but the Roadster is tight, in a good way. In fact when it's on the floor you can get the place rumbling pretty good. It's a lot of cab in a small box, trust me.