Tone Burst, Grid Slammer, Flux Drive or Throttle Box?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pratamaputra

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm new to this Boogie Board and I was hoping that I can get some opinions and enlightment regarding my issue. :)

I came across these four pedals as mentioned in the title, and have searched numerous reviews and explanations but can't seem to pinpoint the answer. :(

Currently I am satisfied with my tone when it comes to rhythm (crunch or heavy) but still haven't found what I;m looking for in terms for lead sound.

My music varies from Satch, Vai, Dream Theater, Def Leppard to Megadeth and Lamb Of God. :mrgreen:

What do you guys think one or two pedals I should choose between Tone Burst, Grid Slammer, Flux Drive and Throttle Box?

I'm having trouble getting my head around the idea that you have a V:25 and you can't find a decent lead tone. :?

Anyway, here's the Cliff's Notes version Mesa pedal rundown:

Tone Burst - a "boost" with some tone shaping; not much added gain; just kind of polishes what your amp is giving.

Grid Slammer - a Tube Screamer variant; low to mid gain; great as a boost with the level up/gain backed off; great as a mid-level OD on top of a clean or slightly crunchy amp setting; slight mid hump; nice pedal; I have one.

Flux Drive - it's the "unofficial" Mark series amp-in-a-box; more gain on tap than the Grid Slammer; I've played one; also a nice pedal.

Throttle Box - huge gain; great for metal; like a Dual Rec on steroids; probably not a good choice for a boost pedal.

KiwiJoe said:
I'm having trouble getting my head around the idea that you have a V:25 and you can't find a decent lead tone. :?

Anyway, here's the Cliff's Notes version Mesa pedal rundown:

Tone Burst - a "boost" with some tone shaping; not much added gain; just kind of polishes what your amp is giving.