ISP noise gates

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

enuenu

Reaction score
I know I want a noise gate. I have a Mesa 3 channel DR. My research so far seems to indicate ISP Decimators are the best. The question is whether to get the standard model or the more expensive G String model (which can be used in the loop)

Some of the technical advice on the differences between the two has me a bit confused as I have no experience in this area. I thought I would just buy the more expensive Decimator G String as I thought it would do exactly what the standard Decimator does PLUS some extra stuff. Thus in a worst case scenario (caused by lack of knowledge and experience in this tech stuff at purchase time) I would buy the G String version and not fully utilize its capabilities by just sticking it out in front of the amp. When I get to know how it all works a bit better I could use it in the lop as well.

However I have read a few comments that indicate that maybe the standard Decimator might actually work better than its more advanced G String brother in some circumstances, i.e. when I just want to quickly throw it out in front of the amp. I may also own other amps in the future. I sometimes swap amps with friends for a while, sometimes use an AC30 and sometimes even an old Roland JC60. Which ISP Decimator should I buy? The extra $100 for the G String is neither here nor there for something I will use for years.

I want it for fast metal chugging and for cleans on my Strat. Any advie appreciated.