Tone vs. Playing Skill?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lespaulguy32

Reaction score
Hey guys... I feel like I have not been focusing on my playing as much as my tone. I have been really self-conscious about it, and I feel bad. When I go to a guitar store, and I try out gear, I feel nervous that I suck. I sound fine at gigs and at home or practicing with my band, but when I demo gear at a store, I get a nervous feeling. I hear dudes next to me and I feel like I suck, because I don't sweep pick and do crazy shredding **** like that. I'm not even into metal. I'm into grunge, and funk/reggae stuff. I'm 14, and I started playing when I was 6. It gets me down because I have been playing for quite a while, and I wish my lead skills were better. I can improvise pretty well, and my lead skills aren't too bad. Though, my former guitar teacher pretty much disliked everything I liked, and told me I wouldn't get anywhere with the stuff I like. I know my peers have said I'm good, and I've had a few people ask me to be in their band, but when I come up to those dudes who have been playing for decades, I feel much inferior, as if I'm worthless at what I do. I've been confused about what I really should solely focus on. Tone, or playing?

Is there any advice anyone could give me?

First of all, you should never feel self-conscious about your playing. Not everyone wants to be the next Jeff Beck. Most people pick up an instrument b/c they enjoy playing, it's fun, and it makes them feel good. Also I know many excellent players who, when they try out gear at music stores don't necessarily "shred" all the time.