RIP 1960 RI LP Classic

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knotts

Reaction score
Tonight I watched my band mates 1960 LP Classics reissue get knocked over by a dog and the headstock just crack and half :shock:. It was terrible. The dogs owner and lead singer vowed to buy him a new one. It wasn't even my guitar but I can't imagine how much that just sucks.

It could be repaired. But if the dog owners and lead singer vowed to buy him a new one, he should go for it.

I've seen some repair person / luthier that would glue it back up and claimed is good as new. Some use splines but I prefer an overlay.

I've done this repair. Well, I'm a weekend woodworker warrior and like challenges.

Depending how much wood is lost, try to recover all the pieces even if the splinters for the luthier to glue it back up.

Nice job on the repair. I think he's going for the repair. I think it's a sentimental thing. He's got plenty of guitars, but this is the he brings to play. I'll suggest the overlay to him. I believe it would hold up much better. Not much wood was lost, actually hardly any at all. It looks exactly like yours did.

Thanks

Now that the headstock is broken and once repaired it will be a true Gibson now. :lol: This is something I was always told when I was younger. A Gibson isn't a Gibson until the headstock has been broken off and repaired. Not to make light of your friends guitar because anything like that happening sucks bigtime. I had an 83 Studio that fell and same thing happened. Got it repaired and the darned thing actually sounded better than before the break.

That's funny. It was already repaired once so it's the second time it broke in the same spot. They went with buying a new one. The purchaser took the old one off his hands and is looking to fix it at some point in the future.

knotts said: