Extremely Expensive Tubes

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewboy73

Reaction score
Hi,
I've been playing guitar for over 24 years, but dont consider myself an expert on tubes. I always keep Mesa tubes in all of my Mesas. In my 5150 though, I have been very happy with JJ/Teslas. A little cheaper than Mesas, but great tubes. Its been time for me to re-tube some amps and I have been looking into other tubes. I came across a website that specializes in tubes and I found some tubes that were extremely expensive. RCA Black Plate 6L6's. Some of these tubes were in excess of $200 a piece!

My question is this.....What makes a tube that expensive? Does it last longer? Does it create better sound? It seems that all of the tubes that I looked at that were really expensive had black plates. Dont know that that means either. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

I don't consider myself an expert but I'll take a crack at the question and will differ to anyone who tells me I'm wrong.

My understanding is that tube technology was at it's peak prior to the invention of the transistor circuitry (e.g. the transistor radio). TV's, radios and guitar amplifiers all used tube technology because it was state of the art technology for the time. As the transistor revolutionized some of these products, by reducing power consumption and making them more reliable, it became more cost efficient to produce and often the preferred technology. It worked great for everything except maybe mono guitar amplifiers.