Wind/white noise coming from amp

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ajfavale

Reaction score
I am new to tube amplifiers and purchased the Badlander 25 combo a few months ago. I noticed that turning up the master (even when nothing is plugged in) produces a wind/white noise that gets significantly louder the more the pot is turned up. It is substantially more noticeable when the EQ pots are used, but still present when everything, including gain, is at 0. Before I go any further with this- is this normal/acceptable or is this something I should look into? I have attached a video for reference.

Attachments

• My Movie-540p30.mov
    24.5 MB
That sounds like a bad 12AX7 tube. Do you have a spare?

Swap a good 12AX7 into each tube position until you find the bad tube. Be sure to turn off the power before changing tubes. Be careful, tubes can get pretty hot.

Dom

That sounds like a bad 12AX7 tube. Do you have a spare?

Swap a good 12AX7 into each tube position until you find the bad tube. Be sure to turn off the power before changing tubes. Be careful, tubes can get pretty hot.

Dom
Thanks, I will have to order a spare and I will try that.

Ok, both channels, all modes.. yep, sounds like a new 12AX7 is in your future..

Ok, both channels, all modes.. yep, sounds like a new 12AX7 is in your future..
Thanks, I bought a set of power tubes when I bought the amp but didn’t get any preamp tubes. I bought the amp in November but was in an apartment, so I only played with the direct out into my interface with headphones. Now that we’ve moved into our home I’ve been able to play with the speaker connected so this is the first time I really noticed the noise with higher volume settings. I just bought 2 preamp tubes this morning so I’ll give that a shot.

Welcome to the forums.