Was Looking for a Dual Rec, Discovered the Roadster

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phil M

Reaction score
I've been into Marshalls and Marshall-influenced amps for most of my playing years. I've been using Splawns for the last 8 years and have a Friedman Naked as well.

I joined a new cover band that will need a heavier and definitely more modern sound. It's not metal but will include things like STP, AiC, Godsmack, Incubus, Godsmack, Chevelle, etc. I love my Splawns but the tone is all wrong in this project. Been using the Naked which is great but not as gainy as most people think it is. I use Les Pauls and control gain levels with my guitar's volume a lot but this time it's just not right. I need to bring the noise and I started thinking back to some amps I had years ago. The '94 Tremoverb definitely came to mind. That's the sound ... or at least part of it.

I started thinking about all the good things I've read about the multi-watt Dual Recs and came across the Roadster. Never heard of this one before so I'm hoping to try one or both models this weekend (if in stock). The 3 or 4 channels would be nice because I have to cover a lot of ground.

Here's what I'm wondering. I'm guessing the heads match best with the matching cab from their series. If I get a new Mesa head, I'll have to wait on the cab and would probably wait for a used one to pop up locally. My current 4x12 is a Splawn with the Smallblock 55 speakers. These are similar to greenbacks but with higher power ratings and tighter bass. Will a Rectifier series amp sound OK or is it a no-no? I think I know the answer but I'm asking anyway ... :wink: Most of my experience lies with the Brit style high gainers.