Solo tone / Sustain

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

william1988

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm a proud new owner of a dual recto multi-watt head. I'm running it through my old crate cabs now (this is part of the problem) until I get the cash for a mesa cab, since I am still a student.

I'm still adjusting to the recto, but nice tones seem to flow naturally. I play primarily heavy music like Megadeth and Metallica; channel 3 modern stuff. However, I'm having a hard time dialling in tones to really make solos stand out and sustaining higher notes. Tapping is especially hard to really make each note stand out, the tone is quickly diminished.

My guitars are an ESP KH-3 and an ESP LTD KH-602, both with emg 81's. Yes, I'm a bit of a fanboy :lol:

Any advice on how to improve this?

Sorry if this is a repost anywhere, I had a look around but I'm new to the forum.

Are you coming from a Solid State amp? I find the Recto actually has a pile of sustain but it isn't the best rhythm amp in my experience. That being said, you have a multiwatt head so try the following: Use Vintage High Gain for your Lead tone. As I understand it, the Channel Cloning is identical on this amp so it can be either channel two or three. Use the Tube Rectifier and try 50watts first. I'd set the gain as high as 2:30 and set all the tone controls to 12 noon except presence which should start fairly low or almost off. Play and turn up the mids, back off the treble, and turn up the presence until the tone starts to phatten up.

As for technique, get practicing your picking, scales, etc. Practice playing clean and low gain styles such as blues so you can REALLY hear your technique. Many tone problems are actually in the fingers. I'm still working on my phrasing and legato line after playing for years.

siggy14 said: