My Opinion: Three things did in the Electra Dyne

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Typically, I agree, but I find it gets lost in a full band mix because of its voicing, so I like to turn up the Presence for some clarity. Really is a great amp, though. As weird as it may seem, I'm secretly happy it's not selling!

It's just the Mesa voicing. I'm not bashing it because I like it. But with drums, bass, keys, vocals, acoustic, and a higher-voiced electric, it's easy to get lost in the mud.

I'm a drummer/keyboardist at my church, and every now and then they throw me a bone (let me play guitar, lol). In a dense mix, I have a hard time hearing myself on the service CD. It's possible, but my friend who's all pedals into a cheap Egnater (surprisingly good tone!!!) comes through much more clearly. We have a pretty high level of excellence, too, so I'm not going to blame the production team or anything. Just the nature of the beast.

Church mix. Well, that explains everything.

I think you'd be better off with using a v30 for this situation. It is a higher voiced speaker so you'll be starting off correctly this way.
Generally, if you want more high mids and cut, turn the mids up on the Electra Dyne and dial the bass down to a quarter. How do the 'volume police' deal with your avalanche of power? I bet if you could turn UP, there would be no Egnater in the mix! :twisted:

+1 The 3/4 back is one of the muddiest cabs I've ever played through. I run my Dyne thru a 2x12 recto cab, and it will cut through any mix. It also works well with a 4x10.

YellowJacket said:
Church mix. Well, that explains everything.

I think you'd be better off with using a v30 for this situation. It is a higher voiced speaker so you'll be starting off correctly this way.