I need your help Boogie users.. what shall I buy?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wightvanman

Reaction score
Hi to you all. My first post.. and I want the benefit of your experience and knowledge.Let me have your tuppenth worth. :)
I am intending to buy another Boogie and I want to know your opinions.
Let me tell you what I think I am looking for and what I will use it for.
I am an amateur musician. I have played guitar for 30 years or so. I gig regularly in a covers band and we do a wide range of material from 70's classic rock ( Stones, Bowie, Zep, Deep purple, Free, Doobies, Bad Co) all the way through the genres to modern (cool) songs.We can also do heavy .. motorhead, metallica, QOTSA, and we do all points in between.So weezer, radiohead, killers, strokes, punk, disco, blondie, Who, Strokes.
I use a PRS McCarty rosewood, a Custom 22 or a Fender Strat. I have range of pedals including a Boogie V-twin, a compressor, wah, chorus, delay.. the usual sort of stuff. depending on the size of the gig and venue i may use an extension cab.. a vintage 1974 Marshall 2x12 cab. Also depending on the whatever i sometimes just plug straight in and use the two channels of the DC5.
So.. I want an amp which I intend to mainly keep in my studio and not gig with. So in between weekend gigs, I can rig up my pedalboard and various other assorted gizmos and practice/noodle around and generally fall in love with.. I want a nice very clean rich clean tone (don't we all) with the ability to raunch it up. Mega dirt is not essential because i can put the V-Twin in front if necessary.
I want lush big sound, a shimmering lovely Strat tone is essential.