I need some words of wisdom here guys...MARK iiC Vs MARK iii

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IBA

Reaction score
Hi there

Im new to this forum although I've been reading it for a while. I'm also new to the MB amps (I'm coming from the Marshall/Brit amp angle). I had a rather unpleasant experience with the Tri-Axis/2:90 4x12 Mesa cab in a recording session years ago (I was persuaded by the producer... I still feel like maiming him) :x and I also tried out a couple of dual and triple rectifiers that didnt convince me much. I'm gonna say something stupid here... but they sounded 'hollow' (over-EQ'd and without any body or sustain). However, I've seen mark IIc+, III and IV and I always had that pleasant sensation of a fuller and richer sound (more like and old jmp on steroids but still different).

I think the Mk4 is out of question for me. More features and all that, but I mainly play one channel amps, so I vary my right hand attack, and use the volume/tone pots, pickup selector and wah extensively to alter the sound (as well as various boosters). So I don't need all the fancy stuff of the IV. I feel the extra circuitry in the IV hurts the final tone. (Still a wicked amp- dont get me wrong).

:?: So here is my question: :?:

ive come across these two combos,

a mark iic (without the +), two output valves/tubes, non-simul-class but all the other extras included (even the Xport transformer- I live in the UK). It's just a car drive away but it will cost me about $500 more (roughly) than the second one:

A mark iii 100W simul-class with all the extras except the Xport power transformer. This one is in the Americas.