Full Rack or Head + Effects Rack

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Which would you choose?

• Buy another Pre

Votes: 3 60.0%
  • Sell what you have and buy a real Mark

Votes: 2 40.0%

• Total voters

JMMP

Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first time asking a "what would you do" type question instead of a technical question.

What I have: Quad pre, 2:Ninety, GC Pro.

What I want: A MIDI controlled second rig separate from my roadster, with basically any effect I want, clean cleans, mid gain crunch, and Mark style high gain rhythm and lead.

My thoughts on how to get there: I have the Quad and 2:90. They sound great together for the most part. Sometimes nasally, other times not. I love the 2C+ side high gain from the quad, but can't balance that with a clean clean sound, leaving me with either my favorite tone in the preamp, or the best clean in it, but not both. The Mark III side will give me a good rhythm high gain, something slightly thicker and "there" than the 2C+, and it gives me a decent crunch, granted with a lot of mids, or too little with the EQ engaged.

All that said, I feel I can keep what I have, and add an extra pre in there for a better crunch and good clean, or I can sell what I have and get a mark IV with a few pedals for the mid gain, or a Mark V. Add in a Mini Amp Gizmo, L6 M5, and a Gmajor 2 (the last 2 I am planning on buying anyway), and I can accomplish my goal.

Now I ask, what would you do? Buy another rack pre for clean and crunch, or sell the current rack gear and get a Mark IV or V.

And if you like the additional pre better, which one? I had a triaxis, but I couldn't bond with the lower gain parts, and it was too expensive to keep just for cleans.
I can think of a Voodoo Labs Pre, ENGL E530, and Mesa Formula that I think would accomplish the goal.

Thanks for any and all responses!