Dual rec hissing and crackling

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheJayGibbs

Reaction score
Hello!
This is my first time to this board and im happy to be here.

Anyway, not to long ago I had a mesa stiletto ace combo. I loved the thing but then joined a band that was heavyer sounding and then needed a heavyer sounding amp. I look around and found a guy saleing his Dual rec. I emailed him and we traded.

The other day I took it apart and cleaned the inside. You know clean around the tubes, get the dust off and what not. Anyway I notice when cleaning the amp, it still had the original preamp tubes still in them. Even tho he told me that he retubed it. My fault for not checking. At this point the amp sounded fine but just to make sure I checked the preamp tubes.

Took one out at a time, it looked ok so I put them back in. After all of that I tuned it on and started to play a bit. Soon after I started to hear hissing and cracklying comeing from the amp. To the point ibhad to stop because it was so bad. Its doing it in all the channels too.

Should I replce all the preamp tubes? Btw the power tubes are new.

How old is the amp? Preamp tubes can last for a while but if the amp is new to you its probably a good idea to replace them. Is the cable good? Perhaps you messed up the input or some other circuitry while cleaning it?

TheJayGibbs said:
Hello!
This is my first time to this board and im happy to be here.

Anyway, not to long ago I had a mesa stiletto ace combo. I loved the thing but then joined a band that was heavyer sounding and then needed a heavyer sounding amp. I look around and found a guy saleing his Dual rec. I emailed him and we traded.