Best 6L6s for MK III Simul outer sockets - recommendations?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

herrball

Reaction score
While I love the sound of 6L6s mixed with EL34s in my MK III Simul/Blue stripe, lately my gigs have driven me to use my MK III in the 15 watt mode which is still plenty loud for small clubs. I also enjoy being able to push the tubes harder rather than rely on just the preamp distortion.

With that as the backdrop, and knowing that Mesa recommends EL34s in the outer sockets ( I'm guessing these are biased hotter? I'm not a techie) which 6L6s handle the hotter bias better? My preference in lower wattage settings for power tube breakup is 6L6s so I'd like to pop some in for small gigs.

Thoughts/experience/recommendations appreciated and BTW.....Happy Holidays to all......

Philips, sylvania, Mesa 415 STR,(same tube) thise where the tubes mesa used stock for the mark II and III (not sure about mark 1), After philips stoped making them mesa was forced to to find another trube manufactore , but the kvality suffered and the started recormending el34`s for the mark III.

The 415 str`s are proberly the most reliable 6l6 tube ever consived , there expected life time is 10.000 houres.
I dont have the correct specs, but the are can take a beating.

Philips alos made a military version of the 415 called the 7581A , same construcvtion tube but the are rated 35 watts , and the 415 str is 30 watt tube.
Thise tubes where put through the most extreme tests to insure the could liv up to the military standard.

I dont have the 7581a enymore but the 415 str`s , I regret letting go of those 7581a`s because the do sound a bit better then the 415 .

But ither 6l6 tube will be the best choice for the mark III

I